Business sector and name

Our Early Years Foundation Stage at Preston Primary School

In September 2012 we implemented the new statutory framework for Early Years learning, development and care.

The children are taught and assessed under the new sections of the EYFS, set out below:

The prime areas of learning:

  • Communication and Language

    communication and language
  • Physical Development

    physical development
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development personal, social and emotional development

The specific areas of learning:

  • Expressive Arts and Design expressive arts and design
  • Literacy literacy
  • Mathematics mathematics
  • Understanding the World understanding the world

The learning characteristics

  • Playing and Exploring
  • Active Learning
  • Creating and Thinking Critically

At the end of EYFS an EYFS Profile is completed for each child: it consists of 20 items of information. Each child is assessed in relation to the 17 Early Learning Goal (ELG) descriptors, together with a short narrative describing the child's three learning characteristics. Assessments are based primarily on observations of daily activities and events.

For each ELG, practitioners must judge whether a child is meeting the level of development expected at the end of the Reception Year (expected), exceeding this level (exceeding), or not yet reached this level (emerging).

More information can be found at